Government

Polk County Elected Officials

Due to COVID-19, the Polk County Chamber of Commerce was unable to hold the Spring Candidate Forum. Please see the statements from unopposed candidates below. Also, positions with multiple candidates were sent questions to answer. Their responses are below.

Q & A for State House District 16:  Trey KelleyJennifer Hulsey

Q & A for County Commission District 1: Scotty TilleryJames Vines

Q & A for County Commission District  2: Chuck ThaxtonGlenn Robinson

Q & A for Probate Judge:  Tony BrazierBobby Brooks

Statement from Polk County Sheriff Candidate

Statement from Polk County Superior Court Clerk Candidate

Statement from Polk County Coroner Candidate

Statement from Polk School District Board District 5 Candidate   

Polk County Commissioners | Polk County Support Staff
Cedartown City Commission | Cedartown Support Staff
Rockmart City Council | Rockmart Support Staff
Aragon City Council | Aragon Support Staff
Elected Court Officials | Other Polk County Elected Officials
Other Local Officials | Polk County School Board
Board of Education Support Staff | State Government Officials


Polk County Commissioners 

4 year terms 
(primary election vote by party – general election vote at large - no term limits)

144 West Ave - P.O. Box 268 – Cedartown Ga.  30125       
770-749-2100

Scotty Tillery - District 1 - Polk County Commissioner
stillery@polkga.org


Gary Martin  - District 1 - Polk County Commissioner
gmartin@polkga.org


Linda Liles - District 2 - Polk County Commissioner
lliles@polkga.org


Chuck Thaxton - District 2 - Polk County Commissioner
cthaxton@polkga.org


Ray Carter - District 3 - Polk County Commissioner
rcarter@polkga.org


Hal Floyd (Chairman) - District 3 - Polk County Commissioner
hfloyd@polkga.org
 


Polk County Support Staff

Matt Denton - County Manager
mdenton@polkga.org

Connor Hooper  - Assistant County Manager
chooper@polkga.org

Dawn Turner - County Clerk
dturner@polkga.org

Brad McFall - Polk County Attorney
www.gmvlawfirm.com/attorney/brad-j-mcfall/


Cedartown City Commission

4 year terms (seats are at large - no term limits)

P.O.  Box 65 – Cedartown, Ga.  30125       770-748-3220

Jessica Brewster Payton- Cedartown City Commissioner
jpayton@cedartowngeorgia.gov

Matt Foster (Chairman) - Cedartown City Commissioner
mcfoster@cedartowngeorgia.gov

Dale Tuck (Chairman Pro Tem) - Cedartown City Commissioner
dtuck@cedartowngeorgia.gov

Andrew Carter - Cedartown City Commissioner
acarter@cedartowngeorgia.gov

Sam Branch - Cedartown City Commissioner
sbranch@cedartowngeorgia.gov


Cedartown Support Staff

Bill Fann - Cedartown City Manager 
bfann@cedartowngeorgia.gov
    
Carey Pilgrim - Cedartown City Attorney
https://www.msp-lawfirm.com/attorneys/carey-l-pilgrim/
    
Mitzi Allen - Cedartown City Clerk  
mallen@cedartowngeorgia.gov


Rockmart City Council

4 year terms 
(seats - Council is by ward - Mayor is at large– no term limits)

316 N Piedmont Ave. - P.O. Box 231 – Rockmart Ga.  30153  - 770-684-5454

Sherman Ross - Rockmart City Mayor
sross@rockmart-ga.gov

Lucille Glover Harris – Ward 3 - Rockmart City Council
lharris@rockmart-ga.gov

Joe Henderson –Ward 1 - Rockmart City Council
jhenderson@rockmart-ga.gov

Mike Bradley – Ward 4 - Rockmart City Council
mbradley@rockmart-ga.gov

Marty Robinson –Ward 2 - Rockmart City Council
mrobinson@rockmart-ga.gov

Rick Stone – ward 5 - Rockmart City Council 
rstone@rockmart-ga.gov
 


Rockmart Support Staff

Jeff Ellis - Rockmart City Manager
jellis@rockmart-ga.gov
    
Mike McRae - Rockmart City Attorney
https://www.msp-lawfirm.com/attorneys/michael-d-mcrae/
    
Pam Herring  - Rockmart City Clerk
pherring@rockmart-ga.gov
    
Stacey Smith - Director of Community Development
ssmith@rockmart-ga.gov


Aragon City Council

4 year terms (seats are at large – no term limits)

2814 Rome Hwy. – Aragon, Ga.  30104     770-684-6564

Debbie Pittman - Aragon City Mayor
debbie.pittman@cityofaragon.com


Buddy Tanner - Aragon City Council
buddy.tanner@cityofaragon.com


Amy Causey - Aragon City Council
amy.causey@cityofaragon.com
    

Candace Seiz - Aragon City Council
candace.seiz@cityofaragon.com


Judd Fee  - Aragon City Council
judd.fee@cityofaragon.com

 


Aragon Support Staff

Zachary Burkhalter - Aragon City Attorney
https://www.facebook.com/ZacharyJBurkhalterPc/

Kim Allen - Aragon City Clerk
kallen@cityofaragon.com


Elected Court Officials

4 year terms (vote by party – no term limits)

Judge Meng Lim  - Judge of Superior Court, Tallapoosa Circuit
Office 770-749-2118


Judge Michael L. Murphy  - Judge of Superior Court, Tallapoosa Circuit
Office 770-646-2018


Judge Linda Smith - Probate Judge
770-749-2128 - 770-748-4923 


Judge Jean Crane  - Magistrate Judge
770-749-2130


Jack Browning - District Attorney
770-749-2106


Stacie Baines - Clerk of Superior Court
770-749-2114 


Johnny Moats  - Polk County Sheriff 
770-748-3732 

 


Other Polk County Elected Officials

4 year terms (vote by party – no term limits)

Tony Brazier (appointed)  - Polk County Coroner
770-748-1241


Vann Angel - Polk County Surveyor
770-748-0419


Kathy Cole - Polk County Tax Commissioner     
770-749-2125 - 770-748-7524 
 


Other Local Officials

2 year terms (seat is by party – no term limits)

Senator Bill Heath - State Senator - 31st District
billheath@billheath.net

Representative Trey Kelley - State Representative - 16th District
trey.kelley@house.ga.gov


Polk County School Board

4 year terms (seats are by party/district– no term limits)

612 S. College Street – Cedartown, Ga.  30125     770-748-3281

Britt Madden, Jr. - District 1
britt.madden@polk.k12.ga.us


Kristy Gober (Vice Chairman) - District 5
kristy.gober@polk.k12.ga.us


Bernard Morgan  – District 2
bernard.morga.@polk.k12.ga.us
  

Chris Culver - District 6
chris.culver@polk.k12.ga.us


J.P. Foster (Chairman) - District 3
jamesfoster@polk.k12.ga.us

    
Tommy Sanders - District 7
tsanders@polk.k12.ga.us


Vicki Mayes - District 4
vicki.mayes@polk.k12.ga.us


Board of Education Support Staff

Laurie Atkins - Superintendent
latkins@polk.k12.ga.us

Shawn Barnette - Secretary
770-748-3821


State Government Officials

Governor Brian Kemp (R) 

Lieutenant Governor Geoff Duncan (R)

U.S. Senator David Perdue (R) 

U.S. Kelly Loeffler (R) 

U.S. Congressman Tom Graves (R)